Six Sigma management comprises of several levels of certification. The main ones include the Champion, Yellow belt, Black belt and Master Black belt among many others. One of the main innovations of this type of approach is that it comprises of a total `professionalizing` of quality management procedures. Before this technique, quality management practices were in most cases left to the production department and separate quality departments as well. Having said that, this approach takes on a hierarchical approach to ensure that all the important aspect of the business incorporate the methodology.

Six Sigma

Six Sigma certification levels:

Six Sigma identifies various certification levels that allow for its successful implementation in any organization. Some of the major ones including:

Executive leadership:

This comprises of the CEO and various members of the top management. These individuals are responsible for structuring the approach for the implementation of the Six Sigma. Additionally, they also empower other role holders with the capabilities and resources to try out new ideas for efficiency improvements. These improvements can be realized by eliminating departmental barriers and any resistance to change.


This level comprises of individuals that can assume the responsibility of the Six Sigma implementation procedure all across the organization. The executive might acquire them from the top levels of management, and the champions can also be trainers for the Black Belts

Master Black belts, who are distinguished by the Champions, also have the role of acting as coaches of Six Sigma. In fact, they spend most of their time on this approach and they also help champions, black belts, and green belts as well. Aside from statistical responsibilities, they also spend most of their time that the Six Sigma is well implemented across various departments.

Black belts:

These professionals work under Master Black Belts in the application of the Six Sigma concepts to particular projects. They also spend as much time as possible to the implementation of Six Sigma. More so, they also mainly focus on Six Sigma project implementation and special leadership techniques. On the contrary, Champions and Master Black Belts would have been focused on evaluating projects and responsibilities for the Six Sigma implementation.

Green belts:

These are the staff who are responsible for the implementation of Six Sigma and various other job responsibilities and working under the guidance of Black Belts.

According to the developers of the system, some special training might be required such that all these practitioners can implement the Six Sigma as required. Furthermore, some organizations also utilize additional belt colors such as Yellow Belts, for employees that have basic training on Six Sigma. Others include the white and orange belts.


Companies such as Motorola and General Electric come with certification programs, which are important aspects of the Six Sigma implementation. These can be used to distinguish the individual`s competence with the Six Sigma approach and in relation to the appropriate skill level. Based on this approach, several organizations also provide Six Sigma certifications for their employees. The criteria for almost all belts vary, and there is no standard certification body.